AIAA Honours and Section Awards




2014 AIAA Lawrence Sperry Award Recipient: Dr Kimberley Clayfield


AIAA member and immediate past chair of the Sydney Section, Dr Kimberley Clayfield, was recently awarded the AIAA’s Lawerence Sperry Award. This award is presented for a notable contribution made by a young person, age 35 or under, to the advancement of aeronautics or astronautics and honours Lawrence B. Sperry, pioneer aviator and inventor, who died in 1923 in a forced landing while attempting a flight across the English Channel.

Dr Clayfield is currently the Executive Manager of Space Sciences and Technology at CSIRO. She received this award in recognition of her significant and sustained contributions to the development of the Australian aerospace sector through national public policy development, scientific leadership, and education activities.

The Lawrence Sperry Award is an international honour bestowed by the AIAA and includes a certificate and medallion. Dr Clayfield is the first Australian to receive this award. Previous recipients include Gene Kranz (former NASA Flight Director, including of the Apollo 13 mission), David Thompson (founder and CEO of Orbital Sciences Corporation), Sheila Widnall (the first female Secretary of the US Air Force) and Robert Braun (former NASA Chief Technologist). Congratulations to Dr Clayfield on this prestigious award!




Sydney Section Member Awarded AIAA Sustained Service Award


Dr Kimberley Clayfield has been awarded an AIAA Sustained Service Award 2011 for service and leadership in AIAA Region VII, representing Australian members and International Young Professional members, from 1999 to 2010. Dr Clayfield was the founding Chair of the University of Adelaide AIAA Student Branch, and is a Past Chair of the Sydney Section and Deputy Director Young Professionals Region VII. She was also responsible for having the Tidbinbilla, Honeysuckle Creek and Orroral Valley space tracking stations in the ACT recognised as an AIAA Historic Aerospace Site in 2010.

Prior to the 2011 AIAA Distinguished Lecture in Canberra, Dr Clayfield was presented with her award and pin by Dr Michael West, the current AIAA Sydney Section Chair, and Mr Michael Drake from Boeing Commerical Airplanes, the 2011 AIAA Distinguished Lecturer.




 2016. AIAA Sydney Section