AIAA's      Mid-Atlantic Section
Skip to main content
Go Search
Technical Activities
Standards Committees
Standing Committees
Other Committees
Integration and Outreach


AIAA Region IAIAA Region I

Young Professional, Student, and Education Conference 2015





JHU Applied Physics Laboratory

Kossiakoff Center

November 13, 2015


Click here to visit YPSE 2015 photo gallery

Graduate Student Winners

Award Presenter Co-Authors School Title
 1st Place Elena Shrestha Inderjit Chopra University of Maryland College Park Disturbance Rejection Capability of a Cycloidal-Rotor-Based Aircraft
 2nd Place Jonathan Geerts

University of Maryland, College Park Shock Train/Boundary Layer Interactions in Rectangular Scramjet Isolators
 3rd Place Alex Kinsey Kyle Slusarski, Karsten Woll, Timothy Weihs Johns Hopkins University Exothermic Brazing with Mechanically Processed Diluted Thermite Foils for Joining Dissimilar Metals
Honorable Mention Jeffrey Feaster Brittany Gater Virginia Tech Dynamics and Efficiency of Bio-Inspired Undulatory Propulsion

Elena Shrestha, University of Maryland, College Park, 1st Place Graduate Student Winner  (Tom Milnes of AIAA at podium.)

Jonathan Geerts, University of Maryland, College Park, 2nd Place Graduate Student Winner

Jeffrey Feaster and Brittany Gater, Virginia Tech, Honorable Mention Graduate Student Winner

Undergraduate Student Winners

 Award Presenter Co-Authors School Title
 1st Place Kirsten Muirhead Dr. Stephen P. Lynch The Pennsylvania State University Interaction of High Turbulence Dilution Flow with Turbine Vanes in Gas Turbine Engines
 2nd Place Jim Catina Maj. Kristen Castonguay, USAF United States Naval Academy Use of Additive Manufacturing to Develop Advance Hybrid Rocket Fuel Grains
 2nd Place Joshua Korsness Virginia Tech In-Space Reusable Staging in Lunar Mission Architecture Utilizing a Propellant Depot
3rd Place Andrew Bonn United States Naval Academy Navy Rockets REPTAR Student Launchs
Honorable Mention Julia Downing Dr. Alison Flatau, Dr. Suok-Min Na University of Maryland, College Park Identifying Deformation Mechanisms in Magnetostrictive Alloys for Improved Flow Sensor Design
Honorable Mention William Ermlick, Jianyu An Emily Studebaker, Joseph Baillargeon, Nathan Roberson, Rickey Warner, Brandon Hart, Aanand Pandey, Heather Smith, Luke Sienkiewicz Virginia Tech Bio-Inspired Robotic Undulating Stingray

Kirsten Muirhead, The Pennsylvania State University, 1st Place Undergraduate Student Winner

Joshua Korsness, Virginia Tech, 2nd Place Undergraduate Student Winner

Andrew Bonn, United States Naval Academy, 3rd Place Undergraduate Student Winner

William Ermlick and Jianyu An, Virginia Tech, Honorable Mention, Undergraduate Student Winner

Space Automation and Robotics Technical Committee Best Paper Awards

Level Presenter Co-Authors School Title
 Graduate Jason Reiter

David B. Spencer

The Pennsylvania State University An Analytical Solution to Quick-Response Collision Avoidance Maneuvers in Low Earth Orbit
 Undergraduate Joshua Korsness

Virginia Tech In-Space Reusable Staging in Lunar Mission Architecture Utilizing a Propellant Depot

Jason Reiter, The Pennsylvania State University, SARTC Best Paper Graduate Student Winner with Tom Milnes of AIAA

Program Information

Conference Overview (click to download)

Presentation Schedule - Posted 11/12/15

Presentation Abstracts - Posted 11/12/15

Happy Hour following the awards ceremony at Kloby's, Montepelier Road(5:30 PM).

Keynote Address

 Mr. Gabe Rogers

Spacecraft Systems Engineer, New Horizons Mission

JHU Applied Physics Laboratory

Going where No One Has Gone Before:

New Horizons at Pluto

On July 14, 2015, the New Horizons spacecraft conducted a close flyby of the Pluto system. Nearly ten years in transit, the spacecraft will continue transmitting images and other scientific data back to Earth for many months. This mission has revolutionized our understanding of these bodies at the outskirts of our solar system. Mr. Rogers will discuss the design and integration of the spacecraft and the many challenges faced by the team on the way to Pluto. He will also highlight some of the new discoveries being made as data is returned from the flyby.


Keynote presentation

Call for presentations

One page abstracts are hereby solicited from prospective authors. The abstract deadline has been extended to November 5, 2015.

Submit abstracts and author information using the form at YPSE 2015 Abstract Submission Site

Paid registration required (authors and attendees); students and K-12 teachers may attend free, but should register. Register at

Lodging at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

8320 Benson Dr.

Columbia, Maryland 21045

YPSE-15 conference attendees may reserve a room at the Homewood Suites Columbia at the conference rates of $106(for 1 bedroom king suite) or $139(for a 2 bedroom king suite) PLUS 13% in taxes. Call 410-872-9200, and mention that you are part of the AIAA Mid-Atlantic Section room block or use the booking code AIA (American Institute of Aeronautics - only 3 letters are accepted). Please make your reservation by October 26, 2015.

Another Homewood Suites location has opened very close to APL but is not offering an AIAA rate. Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia/Laurel, 7531 Montpelier Road, Laurel, MD 20723, 240-360-2725.

Click here for information on other lodging near APL.

Questions? Send e-mail to

See highlights from YPSE 2014 in our photo gallery or click on YPSE 2014 Pictures under Pictures at left.

Designed, powered, and maintained by AIAA—The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership—and its members.
Copyright © 2012 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Some topics addressed by AIAA members, Sections and Committees could be controlled by the International Traffic in Arms Regulations.
U.S. Nationals are responsible for ensuring technical information posted on AIAA extranet sites is unclassified and not export restricted by ITAR.