Area High School and Middle School Students Awarded for Best Aerospace-Related Projects by AIAA NCS


Approximately 20 high school and middle school students were awarded prizes for their innovative aerospace-related science fair projects by the National Capital Section of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics on June 11, 2010, at the National Capital Section’s Annual Awards Banquet at the Army-Navy Country Club in Arlington, Virginia. This past spring, members of the AIAA National Capital Section (NCS) volunteered to select the best aerospace-related projects in the region’s various science fairs. Volunteer judging teams visited eight regional science fairs that were held in the National Capital area, including Maryland, Virginia and Washington, DC.


Support from our Corporate sponsors – U.S. Space & Rocket Center, Lockheed Martin, BAE Systems, Global Science and Technology – made it possible for AIAA to cover all of the areas fairs, and enabled us to award tangible prizes to the first, second and third place winners (Scholarship to Space Camp or Aviation Challenge, $100, and $75, respectively). Additionally, Honorable Mention certificates were presented to other fair participants that were worthy of special recognition. The award winners in attendance were:


Northern VA Science and Engineering Fair

1st Prize – Henry Tessier, Swanson Middle School

2nd Prize – Christopher Gerlach, T.C. Williams High School Minnie Howard Campus

3rd Prize – Robert Coleman, Williamsburg Middle School


Fairfax County Regional Science Fair

1st Prize – Michael Collins, South County High School

2nd Prize – Joshua Higbee, McLean High School

3rd Prize - Dale Lescher, West Potomac High School


Prince William – Manassas Regional Science Fair

2nd Prize – Wyatt Bahm, Lake Ridge Middle School


DC Math, Science and Technology Fair

2nd Prize – Nathan A. Dupree, McKinley Technical High School

3rd Prize – Evan Pisani, St. Peter’s Interfaith



1st Prize – Umesh Padia

2nd Prize – Vinay Sriram


Charles County Science Fair

1st Prize – Numa D. Roberson, Jr., Maurice J. McDonough High School

2nd Prize – Cayley Dymond, North Point High School

3rd Prize - Daniel Diazdelcastillo


Prince George’s Area Science Fair

2nd Prize - Jasmine Crooks, Eleanor Roosevelt High School

2nd Prize - Nickolas Ewing, Eleanor Roosevelt High School

3rd Prize - Jonathan Plane, Kenmore Middle School


Congratulations to these promising young students!


Science Fair Winners.jpg

Text Box: AIAA NCS Council presented awards to the 2010 AIAA NCS Science Fair Winners. From Left to Right: Prof. Mark Lewis, AIAA President; Jon Malay, Director of AIAA Region I (Northeast U.S.); Kimberly Harris, Lead Science Fair Coordinator; Dr Laurie Leshin, Deputy Associate Administrator for NASA's Exploration Systems Mission Directorate; Wyatt Bahm, Henry Tessier, Umesh Padia, Vinay Sriram, Jasmine Crooks, Cayley Dymond, Jonathan Plane, Evan Pisani, Prof. James Baeder, University of Maryland, AIAA NCS Engineer of theYear; Michael Collins, Nathan Dupree, Dale Lescher, Nikolas Ewing, Numa Robertson, Dr. Curt Kothera, Hal Andrews Young Engineer / Scientist of the Year; Daniel Diaz delCastillo, Joel Howell, AIAA NCS Vice Chair; Joshua D. Higbee, Rick Ohlemacher, AIAA NCS Chair.